Appalachian Area Development: Allocations to ARC States

Agency NameAppalachian Regional Commission
Funding Amount$100,000,000.00
Bureau Name Appalachian Regional Commission
Funding Mechanism Grant, Cooperative Agreement
New? No
Funding Mechanism Grant, Cooperative Agreement

Funding Amount Notes

Period of Availability Available until expended
Recipients States and local governments, Non-Profits both with and without 501c3 status
Program Description Program will provide Area Base Development Program grant allocations to Appalachian Regional Commission States for activities that help bring the 13-State Appalachian Region into economic parity with the Nation. Each State will operate its own competitive application process. The Appalachian Regional Commission States are Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
Eligible Uses Eligible uses will support the Appalachian Regional Commission goals of Building Appalachian Businesses; Building Appalachia's Workforce Ecosystem; Building Appalachia's Infrastructure; Building Regional Culture and Tourism; and Building Community Leaders and Capacity.
sam.gov link https://sam.gov/fal/79b153c4f515bd8af6a3842c3f710cff/view
Statutory Location Division J, Title III
Federal Cost Share Requirement Maximum Appalachian Regional Commission share ranges from 30 percent-80 percent, depending on the county's level of economic distress. Appalachian Regional Commission participation can increase the allowable Federal share up to 100 percent in a grant